Verne Harnish, the "Growth Guy"

Married to Julie and the father of four children Cameron, Cole, Jade and Quinn, Verne is the founder of two world-renowned entrepreneurship organizations, the Young Entrepreneurs Organization (YEO) and the Association of Collegiate Entrepreneurs (ACE), Verne is presently founder and CEO of Gazelles, Inc., which serves as an outsourced corporate university for mid-size firms and hosts a faculty of well-known business experts including Jim Collins, Geoff Smart, Jack Stack, Neil Rackham, Seth Godin, and Pat Lencioni and sponsors best practices trips to GE, Southwest Airlines, Microsoft, and Dell.

The Growth Guy columnist for several publications and a contributing editor for Fortune Small Business magazine, Verne is the author ofMastering the Rockefeller Habits: What You Must Do to Increase the Value of Your Fast-Growth Firm,which has been translated into Spanish, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean. Named one of the Top 10 Minds in Small Business by Fortune Small Business Magazine (FSB), he appeared on the cover of the Dec/Jan 2002 issue of the magazine.


Verne chaired the renowned Birthing of Giants entrepreneurship leadership program at MIT for 15 years and the MIT/WEO Advanced Business Program. He also chaired for many years the leadership program for Canadas prestigious Top 40 Under 40 program and is going into his seventh year leading an executive program in Malaysia entitled Taipan, the Making of Asian Giants. Hes also launching similar programs in Australia, India, and Ireland in 2008.

Given his expertise in the field of entrepreneurship, he has appeared on several national television and radio programs including Smart Money, CBS News, and Nations Business Today; and appeared in stories in over one hundred magazines and newspapers includingForbes, Inc.,andThe Wall Street Journal.

Verne has a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering and an MBA from Wichita State University. Hobbies include piano, tennis, and magic as a member of the International Brotherhood of Magicians. Honors include National Leader of the Year for Omicron Delta Kappa (Leadership honorary organization) and one of the first two recipients of the National Laureate Award for Leadership by Tau Beta Pi (Engineering honorary organization).